Proposed new stadium, by Aberdeen beach

10 hours ago, slippers said:

Id like to see the club saying they are shifting concentration back onto Kingsford. I know its not ideal for people within the city but part of me just wants it in Kingsford now to get it up the council. Im also not convinced a decent % of people who attend from city wouldn't still attend a few miles outside the city. Along as the team is doing well people will go. Death of club seems a little over the top in my opinion. 

7 hours ago, ericblack4boss said:

It's quite acceptable for folk outwith the city to have to travel in to pittodrie , but not for toonsers to travel outwith the city , 

Fuck them

6 hours ago, Robin Askwith said:

The majority of folk that whinge about having to travel a few miles outside the city on match day to Kingsford will be the diehards who have no problem trailing down to Glasgow, Motherwell, Kilmarnock etc every 2nd week.

Fuck Aberdeen Council and get going with building it out at Westhill.

It's nae the travel to Kingsford that's the problem, it's where the fuck they're supposed to park when they get there.

Plus having to walk across and alongside a dual carriageway to get into the stadium, the shite design because there's a height restriction to keep the nimbys happy, and a laughable shuttle bus plan.

If the club can't afford to build at the beach, they can't afford to build at Kingsford, so it won't be happening anyway. Council get their wish of the club staying at Pittodrie and the club continues to waste hundreds of thousands each year keeping a crumbling ground open.

2 hours ago, redstrummer said:

definitely this and buy up some of the houses up the road then redirect the road. Plenty room to redevelop the South and Merkland stands too 

Should have been done years ago while the Timber Centre was at the back of the Merkland and before all the flats were built behind the Merkland and South.  Unsure how much scope there is for developing both these stands now.

It's criminal the way Pittodrie has been left to rot away.

1 minute ago, bruceg1978 said:

Should have been done years ago while the Timber Centre was at the back of the Merkland and before all the flats were built behind the Merkland and South.  Unsure how much scope there is for developing both these stands now.

Do we really want a shiny Easter road type stadium? No thanks. If we are doing it we need to do it properly which will return a big commercial advantage.

6 hours ago, aberdeen1970 said:

We should negotiate to close off Pittodrie Street so the main stand can be rebuilt with a bigger footprint 

Loads of experts on here keep saying Pittodrie expansion is simply impossible.

Yet the were jacking up & moving (manually) multi story buildings in the early 1900's & basically all of Chicago 🤣

Could easily extend out over Pittodrie st as you say. Either divert road around through car park or even incorporate rd through/under a new stand.

So many are too quick to believe the old (it's impossible) pish if it's repeated enough

3 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said:

Loads of experts on here keep saying Pittodrie expansion is simply impossible.

Yet the were jacking up & moving (manually) multi story buildings in the early 1900's & basically all of Chicago 🤣

Could easily extend out over Pittodrie st as you say. Either divert road around through car park or even incorporate rd through/under a new stand.

So many are too quick to believe the old (it's impossible) pish if it's repeated enough

I don’t think it would be possible but it’s going to cost a lot more than a empty plot and you won’t have the funds from sale of current stadium. The club clearly want/need to bank the 10-20m or whatever it is for current stadium. 

Out of interest did the council contribute to the Teca build? What’s the difference between that and our new complex which would be way more then just a football stadium?

2 hours ago, slippers said:

I don’t think it would be possible but it’s going to cost a lot more than a empty plot and you won’t have the funds from sale of current stadium. The club clearly want/need to bank the 10-20m or whatever it is for current stadium. 

Out of interest did the council contribute to the Teca build? What’s the difference between that and our new complex which would be way more then just a football stadium?

TECA is owned by the council. Think they made money on naming rights etc from P&J and other sponsors and hotel franchises attached to it.

2 hours ago, slippers said:

I think the Council own TECA, and then lease it out to a management company.

However, when TECA was in the planning stages, with some joined up thinking, why didn’t they offer some of the land out there to AFC and we could have built the stadium adjacent to TECA? Put a railway extension to Dyce and Bob’s yer uncle. Not exactly City Centre but not in the sticks either and only a few hunner yards from the AWPR. 

Or, the old AECC site.

Going back to Kingsford for a minute and regarding parking, to avoid fans crossing the dualler, there was mention of Aberdeenshire Council using the fields adjacent to Lawsondale on the north side of the dualler, to create a car park on matchdays.

1 minute ago, sooth_stander said:

I think the Council own TECA, and then lease it out to a management company.

However, when TECA was in the planning stages, with some joined up thinking, why didn’t they offer some of the land out there to AFC and we could have built the stadium adjacent to TECA? Put a railway extension to Dyce and Bob’s yer uncle.

Or, the old AECC site.

TECA is even further from the city centre than Kingsford. Imagine the meltdown.

3 hours ago, bruceg1978 said:

Maybe the club did try to make these purchases at the time?

45 minutes ago, starryfish said:

Maybe the club did try to make these purchases at the time?

Was it not the case that AFC tried to build a 2 tier stand at the Merkie, then ACC denied them planning permission "Cos it would affect the TV reception of the folk living on Merkland Rd"? So we just stuck a new roof on the existing Merkie instead.

This is what you are up against with that lot in the Town House.

3 minutes ago, sooth_stander said:

Was it not the case that AFC tried to build a 2 tier stand at the Merkie, then ACC denied them planning permission "Cos it would affect the TV reception of the folk living on Merkland Rd"? So we just stuck a new roof on the existing Merkie instead.

This is what you are up against with that lot in the Town House.

Sounds legit

2 hours ago, Gooby1983 said:

TECA is owned by the council. Think they made money on naming rights etc from P&J and other sponsors and hotel franchises attached to it.

TECA looks like an industrial warehouse.No pubs or restaurants near it,does bugger all for the city economy.

Should have been built down the beach somewhere which would have been a spin off to the pubs and restaurants.

If the stadium is built at Kingswells it would be exactly the same.

30 minutes ago, NEM said:

Castlegate to Cormack Park is 8 miles you havering cunt  😂

Screenshot-2022-12-08-153856.png

Its really not... look at the route google has given you to work out 8 miles, it goes from the Castlegate, up King Street to West North Street, all the way up Hutcheon Street to the Lang Stracht / Anderson Drive crossroads, then down to Kingsgate, to Hazlehead and then out to Westhill. Not by any means the shortest ot easiest route.

Below is the (almost) exact distance if you take the route any sensible person would take.

So kindly do one!!

Capture.jpg

6 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Its really not... look at the route google has given you to work out 8 miles, it goes from the Castlegate, up King Street to West North Street, all the way up Hutcheon Street to the Lang Stracht / Anderson Drive crossroads, then down to Kingsgate, to Hazlehead and then out to Westhill. Not by any means the shortest ot easiest route.

Below is the (almost) exact distance if you take the route any sensible person would take.

So kindly do one!!

Capture.jpg

You are not allowed to drive up Union St from Market St to Bridge St though.