Proposed new stadium, by Aberdeen beach

35 minutes ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Wimbledon moved 60 miles away from their old home to a completely different city... not really the same is it?

Long term fans won't abandon their club because they have to travel a wee bit further for home games. If they do they're not real fans and won't be missed.

3 hours ago, 4n4LprObE666 said:

I absolutely detested the NIMBYs who opposed the Kingsford plan, but they were right on a lot of things. It's just not the right place for a stadium.

That bit of land they've identified at the beach is perfect. But without someone paying for it privately, nothing will get built no matter the location. So frustrating.

The council could help by making land available and ensuring roads infrastructure is upgraded appropriately but beyond that it's really a problem the club need to solve and the only quick way out of it imo is to spend a lot of money to start making some of the blockers go away.

I don't fancy us "getting into bed" with the council in any sort of partnership agreement as they're just not trustworthy enough.

The Wimbledon comparison is nonsense, they also changed the name, the badge and the team colours and effectively disbanded the actual club. They just took over the team for the league place. 

What happened there should not have been allowed and any fan who followed them would be off their head and really no true fan at all. 

I would prefer to see the stadium in the city rather than the outskirts, but the comparison there isn't remotely the same. 

If we moved there and were renamed Westhill Dons, with a different crest, white kits and basically erased our history, then I would not expect any fan to follow. That is not what is being proposed though 

1 hour ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Aye its fucking frustrating when every time a stadium thread pops up we have dozens of people going 'just rebuild Pittodrie', 'lets stay at Pittodrie', 'why can't we stay at Pittodrie' when its obvious to anyone with 2 brain cells to rub together that it aint fucking happening.

They're as bad as conspiracy theorists, believing the club has been lying to them for years and that there's no reason we can't stay at Pittodrie because they somehow know better than EVERYONE who has said for the past 20 years that its not viable in the long term (not just Stewart Milne).

Maybe but presumably when the rds was  built the plan was to stay at Pittodrie and gradually rebuild each stand?if so what changed?

5 hours ago, sigh said:

Look at the SPL then; only St Mirren and St Johnstone have moved stadiums, all the rest have managed to redevelop on the original site.

Tell me again why Aberdeen cant build at Pittodrie? And not just because Stewart Milne said so. 

To knock down and rebuild as a whole would take 2 seasons, would have to groundshare for those two seasons, but apart from that, why not?

Loss of income from selling off Pittodrie to housing would be offset by not having to buy land, plus providing services, drainage and upgrade of infrastructure to serve the new stadium.

🙈

A helluva lot of ‘unique’ type buildings built to fit surroundings. 

There is no reason why Pittodrie couldn’t be redeveloped using a bit of decent planning.

Close main stand rd, or build out over in cantilever style even or even make it a tunnel for example. 

Just redevelop stand by stand. 

Enough of this BS that it can ONLY be done if capacity is reduced to 14k 🤣

Any extra costs in redevelopment would easily have been compensated for by now if they had decided to do it this way decades ago when first chat of a ‘new stadium’ was first floated 

How much cash has been wasted on various feasibility studies/planning permission etc. & just arguing with the fkn ACC? 

Ffs just one feasibility study alone cost £600k if o remember right🤣

Milne strung the club along for fkn years with BS & now it’s just become the ‘accepted’ fact that Pittodrie redevelopment at similar capacity is IMPOSSIBLE 

59 minutes ago, fine-n-dandy said:

A helluva lot of ‘unique’ type buildings built to fit surroundings. 

There is no reason why Pittodrie couldn’t be redeveloped using a bit of decent planning.

Close main stand rd, or build out over in cantilever style even or even make it a tunnel for example. 

Just redevelop stand by stand. 

Enough of this BS that it can ONLY be done if capacity is reduced to 14k 🤣

Any extra costs in redevelopment would easily have been compensated for by now if they had decided to do it this way decades ago when first chat of a ‘new stadium’ was first floated 

How much cash has been wasted on various feasibility studies/planning permission etc. & just arguing with the fkn ACC? 

Ffs just one feasibility study alone cost £600k if o remember right🤣

Milne strung the club along for fkn years with BS & now it’s just become the ‘accepted’ fact that Pittodrie redevelopment at similar capacity is IMPOSSIBLE 

IT’S NOT HAPPENING.

9 hours ago, pocrawred said:

Aberdeen missed the boat years ago by nae buying the land far the big gas tunk wiz. Now flats hiv bn built in that area. Could o turned the pitch 90 degrees.

Nae that he wiz in charge at the time but Stewart Milnes a cunt.

I seem to remember at one time the new stadium was going to be paid for by the massive profit they would be making on selling Pittodrie for housing?Anyway I just don't see where the cash is going to come from now to build a completely new stadium. And that is in a city where billions were made from oil and gas....

1 hour ago, ERNIE said:

I seem to remember at one time the new stadium was going to be paid for by the massive profit they would be making on selling Pittodrie for housing?Anyway I just don't see where the cash is going to come from now to build a completely new stadium. And that is in a city where billions were made from oil and gas....

The stadium was never going to be paid with the sale of pittodire ever. 

You probably said the same about the training ground at 12m and it’s bought and paid for. I think we would have to mortgage 20-30% or something but that isn’t a issue at all if the new stadium is making us 3m plus extra a year. Pay 2m a year for next 10-20 years and we are still 1m a year better off. 

8 minutes ago, slippers said:

I think we would have to mortgage 20-30% or something but that isn’t a issue at all if the new stadium is making us 3m plus extra a year. Pay 2m a year for next 10-20 years and we are still 1m a year better off. 

We'd have to mortgage much more than that otherwise we'd already have gone ahead and built it. 

And there's no guarantees it's going to make £3m per year extra. 

Complete pie in the sky stuff. 

4 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

We'd have to mortgage much more than that otherwise we'd already have gone ahead and built it. 

And there's no guarantees it's going to make £3m per year extra. 

Complete pie in the sky stuff. 

Who says? The people that are completely against it and want to stay at our shite stadium? Absolute nonsense if you think we will only have the Pittodrie land to contribute to the build. Their will be 10s of millions coming from investors, sponsors and grants. 

19 hours ago, sigh said:

Loss of income from selling off Pittodrie to housing would be offset by not having to buy land, plus providing services, drainage and upgrade of infrastructure to serve the new stadium.

We already own the land at Kingsford.

8 minutes ago, slippers said:

Who says? The people that are completely against it and want to stay at our shite stadium? Absolute nonsense if you think we will only have the Pittodrie land to contribute to the build. Their will be 10s of millions coming from investors, sponsors and grants. 

Things have changed significantly since Milne commissioned that study to support his objective to move away from Pittodrie. 

The local economy is completely different, the value of the land is significantly less and the cost of construction is significantly more. 

Just because something was true 15 years ago doesn't make it so now. Folk seem to treat it like it's some sort of precious scripture or gospel. It was of its time and the objective was to support a desire to move. You get what you pay for. 

And which organisations are going to pay 10s of millions to support the project? We struggled to get businesses to give us any significant money during the boom days of the city and the club, let alone now. 

6 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Things have changed significantly since Milne commissioned that study to support his objective to move away from Pittodrie. 

The local economy is completely different, the value of the land is significantly less and the cost of construction is significantly more. 

Just because something was true 15 years ago doesn't make it so now. Folk seem to treat it like it's some sort of precious scripture or gospel. It was of its time and the objective was to support a desire to move. You get what you pay for. 

And which organisations are going to pay 10s of millions to support the project? We struggled to get businesses to give us any significant money during the boom days of the city and the club, let alone now. 

There's not a cat's chance in hell that we are redeveloping Pittodrie, for a number of very obvious reasons. Get over it. It's a non-starter.

23 minutes ago, Willo flood said:

Where is this figure from?

The same pie in the sky shite that claimed the wifeys team would be averaging 12k gates most likely. 

About 30 years now Milne and co have been bumping their gums about moving and still some gullible cunts lap it up.

We’re going nowhere 😎

5 minutes ago, aberdeen1970 said:

Just because something was true 15 years ago doesn't make it so now. Folk seem to treat it like like it's some sort of precious scripture or gospel. It was of its time and the objective was to support desire to move. You get what you pay for. 

The negatively on here is quite something. Even when people are complementing Burrows they have to have a go at Cormack. Are all clubs fans like this? 

5 minutes ago, slippers said:

The negatively on here is quite something. Even when people are complementing Burrows they have to have a go at Cormack. Are all clubs fans like this? 

I never mentioned Cormack. 

And folk aren't being negative, they're being pragmatic. 

Instead of dreaming up mystery benefactors and investors. 

1 minute ago, zeroisgod76 said:

Maybe not… more chance of it happening than staying at Pittodrie though.

Is there? How long have they been talking about a move out of town? Not happened yet and certainly won’t be happening any time soon