Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Recently, Dad has found himself back amongst nature...the sweet song of various finchies and titties; the busy toothypegs of red squirrels; the tap-tap-taparoo of woodpeckers, the graceful fence-hopping deer...every day is akin to a real life Disney film (Bambi or one of the others with animals in). The other day, I saw a blackbird, 2 squirrels a smattering of wee birdies and the woodpecker all fucking hanging out together at my Dad-made feeding area...I was greeting a bitty at the wonder of it all truth be told. Anyhow - thought it'd be a terrific topic for us to discuss - feeding advice, photos of rare sightings etc etc...summat to do in the summer months / until the Dons get good again ✌️ Heres one of yon squirrels - I've nicknamed him, 'Squirrely' ? Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Wildlife photography is my thing. If I knew how to post pics straight from my PC I'd fire a couple up but I dinna'. Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 Aye - cagey wee bastard our resident woodpecker, 'Woody'... getting a bitty more brazen as time goes on but - he's made the hung fatballs his own ? I'm just guessing he's a he btw...I'll double check on the rspb site. And no, no yet - be next year afore USA: phase 2 is underway. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 ?? Saw some cracking pics last year of Osprey diving for fish in Loiriston Loch, not sure if they have been spotted this year ? Spoiler Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 45 minutes ago, Beachend Bootboy said: Wildlife photography is my thing. If I knew how to post pics straight from my PC I'd fire a couple up but I dinna'. Here son - get yourself an Imgur account; a terrific place to upload to, handy links for posting elsewhere etc - terrific it is ✌️ Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 3 minutes ago, chief_wiggum said: ?? Saw some cracking pics last year of Osprey diving for fish in Loiriston Loch, not sure if they have been spotted this year ? Reveal hidden contents Get your buttocks down Loiriston way and find out son ? I revealed your hidden contents to find...nothing. I was expecting a wee cuckoo or summat as well - ah no. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 minute ago, Dad said: I revealed your hidden contents to find...nothing. I was expecting a wee cuckoo or summat as well - ah no. ? That was just me in my dotage hitting the wrong button and not noticing, heres a cuckoo for you anyway Link to comment
YorkDon Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Lots of hare, rabbits, and deer out where I live.See the odd stoat kicking about.The dog always wants to go have a look, but the stoat would take her face off before she knew it. Lots of barn owls too. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Spider wasp on the street the other day - dragging a spider back to its nest - got a pic but this website/ postimg both have been playing up like fuck recently Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 24 minutes ago, Poodler said: Spider wasp on the street the other day - dragging a spider back to its nest - got a pic but this website/ postimg both have been playing up like fuck recently Seen any white tips or red backs yet? Link to comment
Ten Caat Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 12 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said: Seen any white tips or red backs yet? Same question to @Dad With the addition of pink helmets? Going out dogging does not qualify as wildlife watching you old perv Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 minute ago, Sooper-hanz said: You know what I saw in March , near Canterbury, a fucking white squirrel. Only 50 in the uk. The countryside is racist Link to comment
Beachend Bootboy Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 hour ago, Dad said: Here son - get yourself an Imgur account; a terrific place to upload to, handy links for posting elsewhere etc - terrific it is ✌️ Cheers, I'll hae a deek later. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 56 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: I thought you lived in weegieville? nae Red Skwurlz there Saw plenty of the grey fuckerz in Queens Park yesterday. Link to comment
Poodler Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 screenshot tools a duck last night, doon I road Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 2 hours ago, BrianFaePerth said: The countryside is racist ??. I would rename what we currently refer to as Eastern and Western Brown Snakes, and, in particular, the Black Mamba, which is not actually black, in order to make brown people feel better about things. #Diversity&Equality #BrownLivesMatter Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 5 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: ??. I would remain what we currently refer to as Eastern and Western Brown Snakes, and, in particular, the Black Mamba, which is not actually black, in order to make brown people feel better about things. #Diversity&Equality #BrownLivesMatter Aye but all the black things are deadly and a white squirrel isn’t. It’s racism! Link to comment
Guest Matt Armstrong's Dog Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 2 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said: Aye but all the black things are deadly and a white squirrel isn’t. It’s racism! ??. A very valid point, Brian min. Aye, come to think of it there is also the black widow spider but the old great white shark (although mainly a bluish-grey hue) likes a human meal, so maybe that evens things out. Link to comment
Parklife Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 hour ago, BrianFaePerth said: The countryside is racist 19 minutes ago, Matt Armstrong's Dog said: ??. I would remain what we currently refer to as Eastern and Western Brown Snakes, and, in particular, the Black Mamba, which is not actually black, in order to make brown people feel better about things. #Diversity&Equality #BrownLivesMatter 13 minutes ago, BrianFaePerth said: Aye but all the black things are deadly and a white squirrel isn’t. It’s racism! Fucking hell. 1 Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 3 hours ago, chief_wiggum said: ? That was just me in my dotage hitting the wrong button and not noticing, heres a cuckoo for you anyway Cheers son haha ? 2 hours ago, Bad_Mobby said: I thought you lived in weegieville? nae Red Skwurlz there The weeg is in the rear view mirror now son - terrific ? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 52 minutes ago, Dad said: Cheers son haha ? The weeg is in the rear view mirror now son - terrific ? Coatbridge? Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 The secret agents said no to divulge Link to comment
frankie_mac's_4 Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Naebody seems to eat rabbits nowadays. I mind as a kid butcher shops on George Street festooned with rabbits, grouse, pheasants and the likes hanging fae hooks in the windows Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Just now, Sooper-hanz said: French cunts still eat rabbits. You ever seen pig's brains in a French supermarket? Bloody offal. I bought a pigs head once to cook. Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Just now, Sooper-hanz said: I'll bet you didn't eat it's brain though. It had been cut in half and the brain removed. Was a waste of time anyway, much better and easier to just buy the cheeks. Link to comment
frankie_mac's_4 Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 I've seen camel's heeds hanging fae hooks ootside butcher shops in North Africa. Watched them butcher sheep on a hook at roadside cafes inna - then ate said sheep Link to comment
RedArmyFakshun Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 Greenfinch are total cunts. They turn up mob handed, massive barney, squabbling at the feeder Ill-equipped ugly dinosaur beaks, they ruin it for everyone All the seed all ends up on the deck encouraging nocturnal vermin Bullfinch on the other hand, turn up with the missus, no mess, no drama, very respectful Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 hour ago, frankie_mac's_4 said: Naebody seems to eat rabbits nowadays. I mind as a kid butcher shops on George Street festooned with rabbits, grouse, pheasants and the likes hanging fae hooks in the windows The 2nd most farmed species in the EU. 180mil. Rubbit is fine imo! Link to comment
Parklife Posted June 2, 2022 Share Posted June 2, 2022 26 minutes ago, Bad_Mobby said: Ehhh. Okay. Link to comment
Dad Posted June 2, 2022 Author Share Posted June 2, 2022 1 hour ago, RedArmyFakshun said: Greenfinch are total cunts. They turn up mob handed, massive barney, squabbling at the feeder Ill-equipped ugly dinosaur beaks, they ruin it for everyone All the seed all ends up on the deck encouraging nocturnal vermin Bullfinch on the other hand, turn up with the missus, no mess, no drama, very respectful A bundle of finches frequent Dad's Apiary; terrific wee bastards ? A family of chaffinches nesting just above the front door and another behind - a great bunch. A pair of Greenfinches are oft hanging about - but I've a few locations with food dottted about, so they seem to keep to themselves. There's a pair of great and coal tits too as an aside; right polite wee cunts they are ? Link to comment