donaldoni Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 I think you're lying Whoever heard of a leaving do after a sacking? I think he was kidding. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 I think you're lying Whoever heard of a leaving do after a sacking? Whoosh. Read it again. Link to comment
tup Posted January 21, 2011 Author Share Posted January 21, 2011 Whoosh. Read it again. I did read it and got the poor quality joke min I'm not zipped up the back. What I think you're lying about is having a drink with McGhee, I dinna believe he's a lodge member. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 I did read it and got the poor quality joke min I'm not zipped up the back. What I think you're lying about is having a drink with McGhee, I dinna believe he's a lodge member. I'm nae lying about that. The boy likes a drink and I'd a few drinks in his company. Nae sure about this lodge thing you're on about though. Link to comment
tup Posted January 21, 2011 Author Share Posted January 21, 2011 I'm nae lying about that. The boy likes a drink and I'd a few drinks in his company. Nae sure about this lodge thing you're on about though. I thought his drinking was more of the taxi to the corner shoppie for a bottle of wine variety but if you say so. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 I thought his drinking was more of the taxi to the corner shoppie for a bottle of wine variety but if you say so. God knows about that. I had a few drinks with him in Simpsons on Queen's Road. Anyway that's irrelevant. Mccall is an utter twat so I'm glad he's looking like being another McGhee job. Always thought he was a bit of a phoney as a player and I reckon he's a bit of a charlatan as a manager. I've a mate from Bradford who absolutely despises the cu*t so that's good enough for me. Link to comment
tup Posted January 21, 2011 Author Share Posted January 21, 2011 God knows about that. I had a few drinks with him in Simpsons on Queen's Road. Anyway that's irrelevant. Mccall is an utter twat so I'm glad he's looking like being another McGhee job. Always thought he was a bit of a phoney as a player and I reckon he's a bit of a charlatan as a manager. I've a mate from Bradford who absolutely despises the cu*t so that's good enough for me. Aye, he's falling into that oh so English trap of assuming their dross will match our best. A rude awakening awaits him. To top it off he's a despicable squeaky voiced, five amp fuse wire headed hun. Mind you he did score a goal which delighted me against Sweden which was now jesus, 21 f**king years ago, disna seem like it Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 Aye, he's falling into that oh so English trap of assuming their dross will match our best. A rude awakening awaits him. To top it off he's a despicable squeaky voiced, five amp fuse wire headed hun. Mind you he did score a goal which delighted me against Sweden which was now jesus, 21 f**king years ago, disna seem like it I don't like or watch international fitba so have no idea what goal you're on about. He's a horrible nomark of a man in my opinion. He's not your average hun but he's up there. He'd do well to try and get Leitch vbake into the Motherwell set up. They're well suited. You enjoying life over on the other side by the way? Link to comment
tup Posted January 21, 2011 Author Share Posted January 21, 2011 I don't like or watch international fitba so have no idea what goal you're on about. He's a horrible nomark of a man in my opinion. He's not your average hun but he's up there. He'd do well to try and get Leitch vbake into the Motherwell set up. They're well suited. You enjoying life over on the other side by the way? It's fine, sick of arguing the same points to death on Mad so in terms of the fitba chat I find it's opened up a whole new avenue. The Dons are doing well now that's the main thing, poor results always aye bring arguments. Looking forward to the semi-final, I genuinely think we're going to win at Hampden. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 It's fine, sick of arguing the same points to death on Mad so in terms of the fitba chat I find it's opened up a whole new avenue. The Dons are doing well now that's the main thing, poor results always aye bring arguments. Looking forward to the semi-final, I genuinely think we're going to win at Hampden. Some folk would argue with each other because the colour of red we play in was slightly different than in the 1990's even if we'd done the treble and took home the European Cup (Now defunct tournament) You do very well nae to get yourself banned over there. I think it might be because you get the posts coming in. It's a shame to see it a closed shop as well with no one from other teams allowed to post. It'll only get quieter I reckon. Aye the semi should be winnable. If we win tomorrow I reckon we'll lose the semi. Lose or draw tomorrow and we've a chance. Strange logic but we'll be doing unbelievably well to beat Celtic twice in a row in Glasgow. Not very often that's happened. I'll take a win next week anytime. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 The lower leagues in England are of a much higher standard than up here in Scotland.Load of pish. Link to comment
Guest Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 Aye but as a bare statistic that is totally meaningless, given he hardly kicked a ball for the club, and was in fact rubbish. Let's not pluck stats from thin air, they mean nothing on their own, much as you might have a love of them, I do not share it. Maguire is by anyone's measure miles ahead of Prunty even at this stage and will have a career at a far higher level going forward. Prunty went Celtic - Aberdeen - Airdrie or some other no marks from south - Ayr or some other no marks etc etc. A downward spiral. Maguire is on the up for sure and will leave Aberdeen for a bigger club, be that now or in two years time.Personally I'd give him Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 The lower leagues in England are of a much higher standard than up here in Scotland.Fail to agree with you there Mini! They just have more cash than we do. Link to comment
boboisared Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 Grella deal terminated already. Ha ha ha ha! Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted January 21, 2011 Share Posted January 21, 2011 When the preimership starts to unravel and the net starts closing round the clubs that owe buckets of cash, due to the nature of the business at the very top with its little or no regulation it'll be every man for himself, and there will be a few fall guys left carrying a big smelly turd. Link to comment
woohoo Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 Oh my If, as Tup is tantalisingly suggesting, CB and AK are going to be given the funds to make a real go of it next season, then I still don't think Folly's position will be under threat. The idea of Folly playing in a team looking at third, or better, in the SPL sits quite easily with the woohoo - perfectly imaginable. In such a team I can also quite easily picture Vernon and Hartley so I'd agree with those that reckon it wasn't McGhee's signing policy at fault (at least not LAST summer's signing policy). From what I'd seen before I left the idea that Folly is a 'weak' player is laughable - the boy seemed solid as hell and could run all day. From what I've read and seen in highlights the game may have passed in by in some of the games towards the end of McGhee's tenure but every player was having a nightmare in those months, week in week out, and there was clearly a poisonous atmosphere around Pittodrie that isn't condusive to good performances. The first three games of Brown's managerialship was he not considered one of the star performers? I listened to the Utd game on the radio and they were waxing lyrical about him until his injury. If Brown has been told what his budget in the Summer will be, I suspect he already knows what areas he will strengthen in. I will be very surprised if he sees defensive midfield as one of those areas. Mind you, in Brown we trust, so whatever he decides - bring it on! :sheepshag: Link to comment
tup Posted January 22, 2011 Author Share Posted January 22, 2011 I stand by my assertion that Maguire should be awarded a big contract, he has earned it, and a lot of players would have given up and gone all comfort zone after being sent out on loan to, at the time, the league's bottom club. Instead he realised we were a big club and knuckled down. I don't why he gets denigrated so much up here but suspect this has more to do with his personality off field than his ability. Time to let it go and get fully behind him for some of you. He's a real star in the making, and I'd like him to realise it at Aberdeen, instead of taking a derisory Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 Some folk would argue with each other because the colour of red we play in was slightly different than in the 1990's even if we'd done the treble and took home the European Cup (Now defunct tournament) You do very well nae to get yourself banned over there. I think it might be because you get the posts coming in. It's a shame to see it a closed shop as well with no one from other teams allowed to post. It'll only get quieter I reckon. Aye the semi should be winnable. If we win tomorrow I reckon we'll lose the semi. Lose or draw tomorrow and we've a chance. Strange logic but we'll be doing unbelievably well to beat Celtic twice in a row in Glasgow. Not very often that's happened. I'll take a win next week anytime.No we wouldn't Folly has been a tremendous addition. The SPL is only inferior to the Inglish lower leagues in terms of wages offered and McCall is a dick. End. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 I stand by my assertion that Maguire should be awarded a big contract, he has earned it, and a lot of players would have given up and gone all comfort zone after being sent out on loan to, at the time, the league's bottom club. Instead he realised we were a big club and knuckled down. I don't why he gets denigrated so much up here but suspect this has more to do with his personality off field than his ability. Time to let it go and get fully behind him for some of you. He's a real star in the making, and I'd like him to realise it at Aberdeen, instead of taking a derisory Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 Apart from his performances in the last half doz games he has done f**k all to have earned such a lucrative deal. Agree, he owes us alot and if he doesnt want to stay he can go, would rather have someone that wants to play for us. Regarding his value. Look at it this way. If he were playing for another team and we put in a 500k offer for him, do you think its good value? I dont! Considering what kenny miller went for! Link to comment
tup Posted January 22, 2011 Author Share Posted January 22, 2011 Agree, he owes us alot and if he doesnt want to stay he can go, would rather have someone that wants to play for us. Regarding his value. Look at it this way. If he were playing for another team and we put in a 500k offer for him, do you think its good value? I dont! Considering what kenny miller went for! He has played well recently because he has a manager who believes in him. Even when he never, under McGhee, he had been our best player this season. I do not understand this constant requirement to put him down, it's all connected to us having had a poor team. We no longer have that atmosphere at the club so folk should lay off. When we had the likes of Jess coming through the backing he received was tremendous, and his performances were in accordance with that. Constantly putting our best young players down does nobody any favours, and reflects badly on the fans who do so. Time to give it a rest, and give him 100% support. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 He has played well recently because he has a manager who believes in him. Even when he never, under McGhee, he had been our best player this season. I do not understand this constant requirement to put him down, it's all connected to us having had a poor team. We no longer have that atmosphere at the club so folk should lay off. When we had the likes of Jess coming through the backing he received was tremendous, and his performances were in accordance with that. Constantly putting our best young players down does nobody any favours, and reflects badly on the fans who do so. Time to give it a rest, and give him 100% support.I would want nothing more than Maguire to prove me wrong and he has my backing 100%. That has to be reciprocated by him towards the club and the fans also. Until that happens, and until he can consistantly perform at the level he has over the last couple of months then there is NO WAY he is worthy of the deal you mention.Jess is a different case in point altogether. There is a world of difference in ability and attitude for a start. Link to comment
Red Morning Light Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 I would want nothing more than Maguire to prove me wrong and he has my backing 100%. That has to be reciprocated by him towards the club and the fans also. Until that happens, and until he can consistantly perform at the level he has over the last couple of months then there is NO WAY he is worthy of the deal you mention.Jess is a different case in point altogether. There is a world of difference in ability and attitude for a start. +1 It works both ways, Jess earned backing. Link to comment
tup Posted January 22, 2011 Author Share Posted January 22, 2011 I would want nothing more than Maguire to prove me wrong and he has my backing 100%. That has to be reciprocated by him towards the club and the fans also. Until that happens, and until he can consistantly perform at the level he has over the last couple of months then there is NO WAY he is worthy of the deal you mention.Jess is a different case in point altogether. There is a world of difference in ability and attitude for a start. I think Maguire has a good attitude, you would not be able to produce his level of performance without that. I know he's not on the level of Jess but I'm saying he should receive more backing than he does. The sniping about him is unnecessary and counter productive to our aims. He may yet sign on with us again, and if he does, he needs to be supported fully from then on. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 I think Maguire has a good attitude, you would not be able to produce his level of performance without that. I know he's not on the level of Jess but I'm saying he should receive more backing than he does. The sniping about him is unnecessary and counter productive to our aims. He may yet sign on with us again, and if he does, he needs to be supported fully from then on.Sorry Tup, you were doing well up until that. Maguire has a shocking attitude. And I don't just mean the "Kevin the Teenager" type strops he goes into when he's not performing, or being asked to help the team when played out wide. But couple that with the "I'm Chris Maguire, who the f**k are you" off field attitude he (allegedly) has.I hope he does re-sign in fact though. He has ability, of that there is no doubt and I think CB & AK are the ideal people to sort out the billy big shot attitude that he has FAR from earned. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 further evidence tup is full of pish Link to comment
Bobbyskitter Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 further evidence tup is full of pishi suspected that after his first post on this thread, he confirmed this with his theory that Maguire is worth Link to comment
Ke1t Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 there is absolutely no evidence of this, maguire has played in the same team as folly yet he is top 3 material........... how to you equate that ? I would have to say that not all players are equal. Bear in mind Bobby Connor played in the same team as Hans Gillhaus. One was Dutch Internationalist quality at a time the Dutch team was exceptional, and the other was, of course, Bobby Connor. Owner and sole proprietor of Bobby Connor's moustache. Simply playing in the same team as gash doesn't necessarily make a player gash. EDIT: Btw, I'm not siding with anyone, just pointing out what I saw as a flaw in the argument. Carry on Link to comment
tup Posted January 22, 2011 Author Share Posted January 22, 2011 further evidence tup is full of pish If you have nothing good to say, it.s best to say nothing at all. You should have been telt that as a bairn. Unless you're going to produce a coherent counter argument, I suggest you f**koff with your repeated objections to my points without offering anything approaching an alternative point of view. You've got a chip on your shoulder having been proven hopelessly wrong earlier in the thread. Get over yersel barassie. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted January 22, 2011 Share Posted January 22, 2011 He kens f**k all about computers though. Link to comment