fifered Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Couldn't agree with Tup's comments more. If the other Scottish clubs ever had the bottle to forget narrow self interest and stand up to the Old Firm Scottish football would flourish. I'd personally be happy to ship them and their sectarian bile down the the EPL or any other league that would be stupid enough to take them. Two disgusting outfits who, along with their hordes of narrow minded 'fans' bring nothing but disgrace to Scotland and Scottish football. As for Lennon, the fact that this has got to bombs being sent through the post is an absolute disgrace and nothing can justify that type of behaviour. What I would say though is that it is quite clear that Lennon's behaviour over the past few months has stoked the flames of the bigots on both sides of the vile divide. Lennon is a disgusting individual who has brought nothing but shame on Scottish football with his antics at Hearts, Dundee United and Parkhead. If this was nothing to do with Lennon's behaviour why is it that this type of thing never happened when Martin O'Neill, another Northern Irishman, was manager of Celtic? Any day that saw the back of Celtic and Rangers would be a glorious day for Scotland. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Anti Irish? Are they forgetting that Lennon wasn't the ONLY target? Trish Godman - born in GlasgowPaul McBride - assuming he's a weegie as well, attended college there, has a weegie accent and supports a weegie team. This has f**k all to do with being Irish and everything to do with Celtic football club and peoples beliefs in an invisble man in the sky and miracles! Although the latter is used as an excuse more often than not. My girlfriend was born in NI and she isnt religious at all, and I was telling her that it makes her an athiest but she was like "no no, i'm a protestant..." she was brought up to believe that there is two choices, being a catholic or a protestant. I've made her understand the errors of her ways!! Just for the record, her parents are non religous as well and they usually get as far away from any orange marches as possible! This is the problem, kids over there just get told you are one or the other, even if they dont believe in god or any of that bullshit you still label yourselves one or the other and despise the other!! Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Anti Irish? Are they forgetting that Lennon wasn't the ONLY target? Trish Godman - born in GlasgowPaul McBride - assuming he's a weegie as well, attended college there, has a weegie accent and supports a weegie team. This has f**k all to do with being Irish and everything to do with Celtic football club and peoples beliefs in an invisble man in the sky and miracles! Although the latter is used as an excuse more often than not. My girlfriend was born in NI and she isnt religious at all, and I was telling her that it makes her an athiest but she was like "no no, i'm a protestant..." she was brought up to believe that there is two choices, being a catholic or a protestant. I've made her understand the errors of her ways!! Just for the record, her parents are non religous as well and they usually get as far away from any orange marches as possible! This is the problem, kids over there just get told you are one or the other, even if they dont believe in god or any of that bullshit you still label yourselves one or the other and despise the other!! The whole thing is rotten to it's very core. The media would do well to stop glorifying it. An old firm game has a red card and they trot out all the usual 'religious faultlines' in Scotland. Play the games behind closed doors, don't show them on telly, ban irish/northern irish flags from games even the union jack, ban them from playing their irish folk music/brittania megamix over the loudspeaker, ban their poppy protests, ban rangers from trotting out british soldiers onto the pitch at half time (we all know it is just an act of one-upmanship over Celtic while they protest) Cut this out at it's very f**king core. None of this will ever happen, so it will never stop. Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Ally McCoist and Walter Smith have both come out very recently condemning the singing and imploring that it be stopped? Commendable I suppose. So I'll step back from ever to once in a blue moon or whenever they get charged by UEFA for it. Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 true though, i mean you could say they were just paying lip service to it, but i dont think so its a damn sight more than celtic have done publicly anyway, like when neil lennon refused to comment? They want it to stop because of the financial implications of being fined, being made to play behind closed doors etc given Rangers current situation. Correct about Celtic, they are consumed by self pity. Celtic FC - offended by everything, ashamed by nothing. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Ally McCoist and Walter Smith have both come out very recently condemning the singing and imploring that it be stopped?Ally McCoist condemed it....Walter Smith basically came out and said "i've sung the songs myself, but wouldnt now because of the consequences" He's not saying the songs are wrong, he's saying that they can't be sung nowadays because they are frowned upon and creating a reaction. He is skirting around the issue and blaming the fact that people have a problem with the songs, rather than the songs themselves. Smith accepts it may take a long time to eradicate the songs completely, but he says they are "not acceptable in the modern era". And Smith admitted that he has also sung sectarian songs as a young man on the terraces at Ibrox. "I've sung songs, I've been there on the terracing as a youngster, I've done that," said the Rangers manager. "But, certainly, I wouldn't put myself in a position to do it now. That's what I would ask supporters to do. Smith believes it is time for such songs to be consigned to the past. "It's fine when you have a great club, with a great tradition, as Rangers have and people feel that's a part of it," he said. I would ask them...stop singing the songs that are offensive "But I think when there is a reaction, as there has been over the last few years, against those traditions then the people who do sing them need to take into account that in a modern era it's maybe not acceptable for them to do so. "Therefore they need to realise the club are going to suffer quite drastic consequences if they don't stop. "So I would ask them, considering the problems that our club have, to take that into account and stop singing the songs that are offensive. "I would stress that I don't think it's the majority of Rangers supporters." Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 if thats the way you want to see it, fair enough i seen sincerity in McCoist's eyes when he said it He's got a budget for next to season keep an eye on. Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 On another note, players from Clyde, Berwick, St Mirrewn and Motherwell all had players posting sectarian comments on twitter or facebook in light of Lennon being sent a bomb. Couple that with the actions of several of our players in the past and yousee how far the cancer in this country goes. It's terminal. Link to comment
dezzy_dan Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 dd, I don't understand what you're asking? When I said "blood on his hands", I wasn't saying that McCoist had any legal culpability. Quite obviously he doesn't. My point - made by exaggeration, as usual for me - was to highlight his conduct in this. He deliberately wound Lennon up. That's ok normally, to wind up an opponent. But not ok in this case. There is responsibility that comes with position. When you are a chief of an institution which is so poisoned by mental illness - like their big adversaries, equally sick and rotten to the core - you know full well that your actions are hugely public and have very real consequences. McCoist succeeded in provoking Lennon. Yet this man is deemed fit to be the future manager of one of the gruesome twosome, the pillars of Scottish football. Lennon was already under huge personal pressure affecting him and his family with bullets in the post etc. In this knowledge and in this climate, McCoist thought it acceptable to make him lose his rag. That was a deliberate act of provocation, the consequences of which could be severe. Lennon's not Scottish. Is this how pillars of this country behave to other foreign nationals? What does this say about Scotland? The cherished cheeky chappie thought he was being clever. The reality is that he's a solid thick c**t who has been poisoned by the disgusting institution that he's served for many years and he was ripe for the prejudice and bigotry in the first place, like Donald Findlay, being a weak human being and loving the self-validatory attention that their infamy at RFC provides. I didn't have point to make Rocket, nor was I asking a question. You made, in my eyes, a very rash statement. I was surprised and doubted if you actually believed in it, so I decided to probe you on it. In the end, I got the answer that I suspected I would get; you were trying to raise debate on another important issue in this whole affair. A point which has lacked discussion on it thus far. McCoist was sleekit. It's a side I've only just started to see in him as I am relatively young and didn't follow Football intensely when I was younger. My memories are of him scoring for Scotland and being a good laugh on Question of Sport. My judgement of him based on those memories may have to be put to one side over the next few seasons, when I can gauge his character when the pressure is on him. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Neil Lennon - "This job makes me target" I disagree....you've been a target for a long time Mr Lennon! No other Celtic manager had this amount of problems! Being YOU makes you the target, not all of it your own fault i.e. where you were born and religion (suppose this is his fault!) but acting like a bell end for years now has made you a prime target i'm afraid. If I was Lennon I would stick it out till the end of the season, try and win the league n cup and go out with head held high (ish). Link to comment
nemesis_psyche Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 As a Celtic fan (and a Catholic) I'd say that the anti-Irish stuff, at least historically, was a lot worse than the anti-Catholic stuff. They were treated as immigrants often are. Nowadays it's not so bad. But some Celtic fans revel in being victimised. And they also love trying to be Irish. I remember quite a few of my friends with Ireland tops who supported Ireland yet had utterly no connection with the place. The whole thing is utterly mad. I am aware that Lennon is an arse though (and it's not like he's the kinda guy who would be loved by his own fans - he spent most of his time passing the ball backwards). His playing ability has been exagerated greatly over the years - Lambert and Petrov were far better midfielders and the likes of Sutton, Hartson, Agathe, Thompson and Mjallby were also far more important to that Celtic team. And then there's Larsson, without whom there would have been no treble season and no Seville. He was the talisman and the hero. Lennon only really became noticable when we were losing, at which point he'd start shoving and growling at players. He wasn't even the captain until Strachan came in and inexplicably gave it to him above Petrov (who was the teams leader at that point). The sad thing is that because he was an Irish catholic the huns hated him and so he became a hero to many in the Celtic support. I should also add that the vast, vast majority of people who support Celtic and Rangers know utterly nothing about religion. Oh yes, they'll claim to be Catholics or Protestants but it's not really religion which is the problem - it's the utter lack of it. They wouldn't actually go to mass which is probably why Lennon's catholicism is more popular amongst the Celtic support than the likes of Tommy Burns or Peter Grant - he's a catholic but he doesn't do any of that weird stuff like go to mass and pray and all that. The vast majority have no idea how similar the two religions are. Or even that they are all Christians. And neither Rangers or Celtic care about stamping out secterianism and hatred. If they did they'd be looking at security footage and banning anyone guilty of singing any of the usual ditties. But they'd lose too much money. In recent years it's gotten worse: Celtic's appointment of Lennon was to appease the IRA faction of the support who regard him as a provo, just like them as the board had screwed up so badly on the previous appointment. Rangers complete lack of any condemnation for their fans singing (beyond them saying that it's no longer acceptable - suggesting that it was okay before) has been equally pathetic. The game here is pretty much dead anyway. The vast majority of matches are utter sh*te. The price is utter sh*te. And there is this idea that, in a league in which some teams have a budget 20 times bigger than others, it's the split which makes it a joke???! Maybe if the SPL ordered a wage cap so that no team could spend more than Link to comment
baconman Posted April 23, 2011 Share Posted April 23, 2011 As a Celtic fan (and a Catholic) I'd say that the anti-Irish stuff, at least historically, was a lot worse than the anti-Catholic stuff. They were treated as immigrants often are. Nowadays it's not so bad. But some Celtic fans revel in being victimised. And they also love trying to be Irish. I remember quite a few of my friends with Ireland tops who supported Ireland yet had utterly no connection with the place. The whole thing is utterly mad. I am aware that Lennon is an arse though (and it's not like he's the kinda guy who would be loved by his own fans - he spent most of his time passing the ball backwards). His playing ability has been exagerated greatly over the years - Lambert and Petrov were far better midfielders and the likes of Sutton, Hartson, Agathe, Thompson and Mjallby were also far more important to that Celtic team. And then there's Larsson, without whom there would have been no treble season and no Seville. He was the talisman and the hero. Lennon only really became noticable when we were losing, at which point he'd start shoving and growling at players. He wasn't even the captain until Strachan came in and inexplicably gave it to him above Petrov (who was the teams leader at that point). The sad thing is that because he was an Irish catholic the huns hated him and so he became a hero to many in the Celtic support. I should also add that the vast, vast majority of people who support Celtic and Rangers know utterly nothing about religion. Oh yes, they'll claim to be Catholics or Protestants but it's not really religion which is the problem - it's the utter lack of it. They wouldn't actually go to mass which is probably why Lennon's catholicism is more popular amongst the Celtic support than the likes of Tommy Burns or Peter Grant - he's a catholic but he doesn't do any of that weird stuff like go to mass and pray and all that. The vast majority have no idea how similar the two religions are. Or even that they are all Christians. And neither Rangers or Celtic care about stamping out secterianism and hatred. If they did they'd be looking at security footage and banning anyone guilty of singing any of the usual ditties. But they'd lose too much money. In recent years it's gotten worse: Celtic's appointment of Lennon was to appease the IRA faction of the support who regard him as a provo, just like them as the board had screwed up so badly on the previous appointment. Rangers complete lack of any condemnation for their fans singing (beyond them saying that it's no longer acceptable - suggesting that it was okay before) has been equally pathetic. The game here is pretty much dead anyway. The vast majority of matches are utter sh*te. The price is utter sh*te. And there is this idea that, in a league in which some teams have a budget 20 times bigger than others, it's the split which makes it a joke???! Maybe if the SPL ordered a wage cap so that no team could spend more than Link to comment
paulkaneatemyhamster Posted April 23, 2011 Share Posted April 23, 2011 IT;s a sad day when a football manager, no matter how much of a c**t he is, becomes the target of terrorists. Also it's a sad day when being a Celtic fan = Catholic. Just shows how warped and poisned minds have become down there. Last time i checked, Lennon isn't even Irish anyway, nor is McBride or the the MSP who were also targeted. This isn't a anti Kafflik thing, it's not a anti Irish thing, it's a anti Celtic thing, and it's dangerous to make any more of it However lets be dangerous.it;s in Celtics intrest to make it anti kafflik & anti Irish . Batten down the hatches, create a seige mentallity and deflect defelct deflect. In the warperd world of Scottish football and the west coast paranoia, would it surprise anyone if this turned out to be a inside job, mearly to paint "the other lot" in a bad light. The mopery and whatabouttery of all this is outstanding Link to comment
dervish Posted April 23, 2011 Share Posted April 23, 2011 * Agree with pretty much all of that. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 they are putting an extra 1000 coppers on to the streets of Europe's murder capital today to baby sit the orcs in green and blue. pathetic Link to comment
RUL Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 I thought that was a mis-print at first, 1,000 extra police for a game of football. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 Just watched Lennon be a total fud to the Rangers fans. He really is incapable of holding himself with a bit of decorum. Scum of the highest order. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 Just watched Lennon be a total fud to the Rangers fans. He really is incapable of holding himself with a bit of decorum. Scum of the highest order. Totally agree. FFS, in the current climate his actions were downright insane. Without labouring a point, Lennon does have mental health issues (his struggle with clinical depression has been well documented) and you have to wonder if he has the temperament for such a high-profile, high-pressure job. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 Lennons actions don't help his cause. Ran straight onto the pitch and thanked Celtic fans, then as he walks off, puts his hands to his ears when Rangers fans boo him. I expect another bomb to be sent this week. The thing is the majority of OF players get along with each other. McGregor and Stokes embraced each other laughing after the final whistle as did a few others.It's just those Neanderthal fans that keep it going and then again how many of them will have buddies or work buddies that support the other half. People here have asked me about Celtic and Rangers rivalry and just can't understand how intense and stupid the whole religion thing is. It really is a pitiful situation and just makes Scotland look like a country stuck in the dark ages. Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 The thing is the majority of OF players get along with each other. McGregor and Stokes embraced each other laughing after the final whistle as did a few others.It's just those Neanderthal fans that keep it going and then again how many of them will have buddies or work buddies that support the other half. People here have asked me about Celtic and Rangers rivalry and just can't understand how intense and stupid the whole religion thing is. It really is a pitiful situation and just makes Scotland look like a country stuck in the dark ages. A very good point, and this of course has always been the case. McCoist and Tommy Burns being another good example; McCoist spoke at Burns's funeral and was all but inconsolable afterwards when he talked about losing one of his best friends so early. It just serves to prove how insane the actions of the fans really are. Link to comment
nemesis_psyche Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 Yeah, don't have a problem with people responding to getting booed but given all that's happened this week that was more than a touch on the stupid side. Still be surprised if he's in charge at the start of next season. I hope he's not and have to agree with the sentiments that have been made here. He could have applauded the Rangers fans - despite them booing him for the whole game it would have been an olive branch and would have made him look like a decent person. Instead he started with the hands to his ears things. The sad thing is this only increases his status in the eyes of most Celtic fans. Most don't seem to have noticed that, despite the huns hardly having a pot to piss in and being completely crap, they've won the league cup and could also win the league. Most Celtic managers would be under a bit of pressure were this the case (see Strachan in his last season, and he had 3 straight league wins to fall back on) but Lennon's 'other' antics have ensured that his job is safe with most having convinced themselves that he's another Martin O'Neil. Link to comment
Scarface Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 What's the odds on Lennon getting "iced" before the end of the season? Surely got to be worth a punt! Strathclyde Police should take a Zero Tolerance approach to any crowd trouble after today's Old Firm derby: Link to comment
minijc Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 I see that one hun reported him to the police for his gestures, the world has gone mad. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted April 24, 2011 Share Posted April 24, 2011 I see that one hun reported him to the police for his gestures, the world has gone mad. But it's all a bit of fun according to Neil....... http://www.sportinglife.com/football/scottishpremier/rangers/news/story_get.cgi?STORY_NAME=soccer/11/04/24/SOCCER_Rangers_Quotes.html Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 My number one pet hate in football right there. Fans (of any club, including our own) who give absolute pelters to the opposition, yet go greeting to police/stewards when they get some back. Bunch of pooves. it was a stupid move by Lennon after last weeks events but why would anyone complain about that to the police?? Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 it was a stupid move by Lennon after last weeks events but why would anyone complain about that to the police?? hes certainly not up for keeping a low-profile, and neither he should, he loves to wind up the huns, which you have to love, nae sure his mrs and family will be best pleased with his antics on the pitch on Sunday Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 hes certainly not up for keeping a low-profile, and neither he should, he loves to wind up the huns, which you have to love, nae sure his mrs and family will be best pleased with his antics on the pitch on Sunday right there is why he should not do it at all, I don't love what he does at all because it's not just the huns he winds up, he wants a say on everything possible and its always about him. He does not need to do anything, he could shake the opposing managers hand and walk up the tunnel. I think he's a selfish b*stard, he's had bomb threats recently so what does he do wind up his biggest rivals even more than they already are, as you say his family won't be too happy unless they are as stupid as he is. Link to comment
Kilkito Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 I think he's a selfish b*stard, he's had bomb threats recently so what does he do wind up his biggest rivals even more than they already are, as you say his family won't be too happy unless they are as stupid as he is. I think its fair to say, the guy would have been pretty wound up in the lead up, during and after the match, is it any surprise that a guy, who isn't to mentally stable at the best of times did something stupid under such pressure? I think this was ill advised, but can understand why he did it, and certainly wouldn't criticise him for it, maybe the huns that were chanting "whats it like to live in fear" deserve a bit more criticism than a guy cupping his hands to his ears. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 I think its fair to say, the guy would have been pretty wound up in the lead up, during and after the match, is it any surprise that a guy, who isn't to mentally stable at the best of times did something stupid under such pressure? I think this was ill advised, but can understand why he did it, and certainly wouldn't criticise him for it, maybe the huns that were chanting "whats it like to live in fear" deserve a bit more criticism than a guy cupping his hands to his ears. I read a thread about that on the TAMB and most are stating that this wasn't sung at all, I don't know as I only saw parts of the game. You are right they deserve criticism and more of it if they were singing it. Lennon has enough experience of this game to know he should have f**ked off up the tunnel immediately after the game. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 25, 2011 Share Posted April 25, 2011 I read a thread about that on the TAMB and most are stating that this wasn't sung at all, I don't know as I only saw parts of the game. You are right they deserve criticism and more of it if they were singing it. Lennon has enough experience of this game to know he should have f**ked off up the tunnel immediately after the game. however, he is showing a very good response to the chants and the idiots sending the "bombs", basically 2 fingers to them all, and a fukk you, im not changing for you bams? Link to comment