The Boofon Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Pretty sure he's taking the piss. :thumbs: One thing I won't buy is those ridiculous gnomes. What an embarrassment. I may convince myself to get a 10 game season ticket by the time I get home. I'll also buy the "Back to School" merchandise when they release that a month after the schools actually go back like they did last year. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Had already got season ticket & was already subscribed to red lotto, won 1 Link to comment
minijc Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Still not buying a season ticket, however I will go to the first home game of the season and pay in, what we've done against Rangers is great but from the footballing side of things on the pitch it'll take alot more for me to buy a season ticket again. 14 Link to comment
Redstar Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Still not buying a season ticket, however I will go to the first home game of the season and pay in, what we've done against Rangers is great but from the footballing side of things on the pitch it'll take alot more for me to buy a season ticket again.Although I've bought a season ticket...that's more to do with the loon being football daft...I can certainly agree with what you're saying...the hun demise has been a great distraction from our severe deficiencies on the pitch...it will take a couple more "decent" signings and a complete change in tactics if we are to take advantage of the second CL place that Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Although I've bought a season ticket...that's more to do with the loon being football daft...I can certainly agree with what you're saying...the hun demise has been a great distraction from our severe deficiencies on the pitch...it will take a couple more "decent" signings and a complete change in tactics if we are to take advantage of the second CL place that Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted July 17, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 17, 2012 If I won it twice I'd give the second win back. Honestly, I would. Well I'd think about it at least. I didn't think about it at all. Then again I was totally pissed off with the club at the time so they had no chance. A third win? SFYD would get a nice big donation. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted July 17, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 17, 2012 It's a fix! It's nae....I only won it twice. Won a tenner a couple of times as well. Do your bit for the club and you could win too!!!!! Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted July 17, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 17, 2012 Fair enough. I'll renew at the next given opportunity. We got what we, as a fanbase, wanted and this may hurt the clubs income so it's fair enough to ask us to make a financial commitment to the club now that this mess has been finally sorted out. Plus, I think we have a pretty decent looking squad (Langfield apart grrrr) so hopefully a great season ahead for us. Link to comment
Henry Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 There's all sorts of cheaper items in the club shop. Something for every pocket. Is it only pocket- related items, or can you get hats and scarves etc? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I will have to hand pick my games again this season due to having just returned to playing football on Saturday's. I did go onto www.afc.co.uk there and try and check out some of the gear they may have on, there is a lot of things 'products coming soon' - I had that 1 month ago aswell, they ever planning to update the site? I can never get down to the club shop due to being busy, so easier buying online. I want to give the club something this season, and if that means buying products throughout the season, then that's how it is going to be. I'll be buying a top and some training gear. I'm back playing fitba as well now and I am now running a team in a summer league so my saturdays are taken up by this till late November. I'll make a point of going to a few games during the winter break though. ST was on the cards for a while but things changed recently. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 This year there will only be one spot available for Champion's league due to plummeting co-efficient. Into second round of qualifiers as well so even harder now for the Champions to actually get in. Wiki stuff Champion's league3 spots in Europa League. Wiki Stuff Europa League Shit or bust. Win the league is the way in for next season's CL. We're below Cyprus and Israel in the Association rankings? Ace! Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 We're below Cyprus and Israel in the Association rankings? Ace! Aye the OF embarrass themselves annually on the European stage, about time they let some others have a crack, I'm sure we could improve on our last 32 of '08. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Aye the OF embarrass themselves annually on the European stage, about time they let some others have a crack, I'm sure we could improve on our last 32 of '08. Just read through the qualifying thing fo each tournament. Its so biased towards the big teams that its incredible. Feed the rich, fuck the poor. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Just read through the qualifying thing fo each tournament. Its so biased towards the big teams that its incredible. Feed the rich, fuck the poor. It really is. I dislike the CL so much now. Its a Cartel just like the SPL and to be perfectly honest 99% of the games are horseshit. It boring watching the same teams and same players play each other every year. European football should be about teams we've never seen or heard of getting a crack at the big sides. Makes for something interesting to watch. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted July 17, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted July 17, 2012 Is it only pocket- related items, or can you get hats and scarves etc? Yes you can. It's a pretty decent shop. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I can almost see this backfiring on the club a little once the season starts. Right now people are putting their hands in their pockets with a new found enthusiasm. And hte club are encouraging everyone backs them - as they should of course. But how will people feel when the team take the park and we hit the first few poor results? I hate to say it but the way many fans are I can see a real backlash when that happens. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Is it only pocket- related items, or can you get hats and scarves etc? I'd buy an AFC handkerchief. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 cant justify a season ticket, but will sign up for red tv and buy an away top for five a sides Link to comment
Tord31 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I can almost see this backfiring on the club a little once the season starts. Right now people are putting their hands in their pockets with a new found enthusiasm. And hte club are encouraging everyone backs them - as they should of course. But how will people feel when the team take the park and we hit the first few poor results? I hate to say it but the way many fans are I can see a real backlash when that happens. Yes possibly but also a 16000+ crowd at home to ross county could easily spur on the team to win by a couple and some of the fans return for the next game? Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I'm normally a 2.30 on a match saturday decision kind of guy. Single guys and students just don't know they're born - its just you've to be married and tied down (in the nicest possible sense) to realise it.Tickets booked for Ross County for myself and SMG junior who will be attending his first ever match at the todders (5). Budgets don't allow ST's at the moment but all my offspring can expect a wee parcel in the post from the club shop prior to the match. EDIT I've just realised there is also an off chance I may be in Glasgow ON MY OWN for the opener. Holy shit the atmosphere will be bouncing! Right any ideas how I can guarantee my sister in law gives birth on or around this match. Its fate I tell you... EDIT #2 and in case any journo's are reading there is no way on earth my 5yo would have been going anywhere near a hun visit to Pittodrie. Just not worth the hassle of explaining it all. Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Possibly. Plenty folk went on record though to say that even if we had a great season last year they wouldn't be back if Newco got back in and it was out of principle, therefore for me the buying of STs supersedes form etc. It doesn't excuse shite football though, and Brown has both an opportunity and a responsibility to build on the goodwill and faith shown to AFC. More fans = greater expectation And from what I've seen we don't have players who can handle that. Its going to be a test for them if we start pulling bigger crowds again. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Sorry just read V for V's comment re rebound. The decision the board will have to come to if poor performances return is exactly the same as they should have been budgeting for anyway unless 9th is deemed an acceptable result of course. All things being even the fact hunbo is gone makes this possibility LESS likely as there are now 5 games we should be winning, 5 games we should be totally up for and in with a shout for, home and away and 1, and only 1 where we'll take what we can get. Taking the unconvincing TV arguement out of it for a moment, and loving the Ross County Saturday negating any effect of the deplorable huns going to auchenshoogle rovers that day, hunbo not being here makes marketing the AFC product easier, so I can't see how it could come back and haunt to be honest, as long as they give it their best shot of course. And as for the players, well if a realistic possibility of a CL place doesn't float their boat then nothing will. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Aye, take yer negativity to another thread V. Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Its not just us though Bri, 100% correct though your comments re recent tactics and loser mentality are. If we can 'hold em' as regards player budgets etc then Utd appear to be on a downslope, StJ & Killie were nothing too impressive and all three are vulnerable to much lower crowds and hence finances than us. CL will presumably sustain MWell for a wee while depending on how they get on, assuming they don't lose their squad to Div 1 England in the next fortnight. Hertz remain a wildcard of course - will Vlad go for broke chasing one cheek, or will he, like us, 'stick' and hope to become the new default 2nd. I'm just not seeing negatives here as long as that is the mentality drummed into our players. Oh and cards on the table I haven't missed the football of the last 8 years and got caught up in the euphoria of recent days. I still expect 4-5th come May, but I'd be disappointed not to be within 3 wins (9 points) of 2nd around the split. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Season tickets for a 61 year old and 9 year old bought today. Both 1st time season ticket holders. Please justify the purchase Dons. Link to comment
lethal707 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I've purchased a season ticket with my free under 12 getting donated to my sister. She'll be there every week but I play most Saturdays so won't manage every week. As always though I'll be at every home and away game that doesn't clash with my own glorious career lol. also putting us both in for the red lottery and bought her the new kit. 1 Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I can almost see this backfiring on the club a little once the season starts. Right now people are putting their hands in their pockets with a new found enthusiasm. And hte club are encouraging everyone backs them - as they should of course. But how will people feel when the team take the park and we hit the first few poor results? I hate to say it but the way many fans are I can see a real backlash when that happens. Anger is at least better than apathy! Link to comment
Johnny Mac Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 A few of us going to get season tickets this week after a few years without. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 I can almost see this backfiring on the club a little once the season starts. Right now people are putting their hands in their pockets with a new found enthusiasm. And hte club are encouraging everyone backs them - as they should of course. But how will people feel when the team take the park and we hit the first few poor results? I hate to say it but the way many fans are I can see a real backlash when that happens. Don't know V There seems to be a positivity flowing through the supporters right now after the way the whole Rangers things has went, its time to take our game back. With that, hopefully, the crowd at Pittodrie start getting behind the team on the pitch as well as the club by putting their hands in their pockets. The club and team have a real opportunity here to build the crowds back to the levels they were 4 and 5 years ago. If they go out and try, play some decent football now and again and win some games it could be a turning point for us. I'm really looking forward to a season for a change. Link to comment
ChutneyLove Posted July 17, 2012 Share Posted July 17, 2012 Just to add the bloke on the phone said they have a fair bit to go to match last seasons number. Link to comment