Josh Parker

I don't think many of us should be surprised to hear that Scottish football isn't technically the most gifted in European football, but then our game has always been different for mainland Europe, with the exception of maybe, German football.

The thing that pleases me is that over the past few years, managers of clubs we have played from the continent have been very complimentary about us and our standard of play, which seems to go against the stereotypes of the game in Scotland.

I don't think many of us should be surprised to hear that Scottish football isn't technically the most gifted in European football, but then our game has always been different for mainland Europe, with the exception of maybe, German football.

The thing that pleases me is that over the past few years, managers of clubs we have played from the continent have been very complimentary about us and our standard of play, which seems to go against the stereotypes of the game in Scotland.

Yeah that's the point I'm trying to make. I didn't hear anything negative or condescending in Parker's interview, only that Scottish football is different to what he's been playing. Rijeka had some technical players and we battered them so different doesn't mean bad.

Based on the highlights of the game he mentions in that interview, I'd have to agree. I wouldn't have said he was outstanding based on on those highlights, but he was certainly one of their better players. His finishing does look suspect though.

Great. Another one to add to our list maybe :clangers2:

aye well lets see if hes technical and tactical before he starts slagging his new team-mates off

& let's wait to see if he's not before we start slagging him off.

Guy has only stated something that is most likely true.

If he'd just come from the league in cloggyland you probably wouldn't have moaned at all at him saying this because it's most certainly true.

Don't forget he's not said that it's shit here. Just different to where he's just come from. where they focus more on different areas of the game.

Idiot

Red Star fans are not racist, absolutely not racist.

There were a lot, like a lot of black players in our club, including basketball and football club.

Just look at this video, Charles Jenkins, black basketball player getting hoodie from Red Star fans:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9cnqh2Y4M0c

Or this video, Lamin Diarra, ex player of FC Partizan:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p6p6U0DFOtU

Or this video, Abiola Dauda, celebrating goal with Red Star fans:

And he was one of our favourite player, you know why ? Because he can play football, we don't care about his skin colour, Parker's skin colour has nothing to do with us hating him.

And last video, look how our ex player Awal Issah was singing Red Star's songs after moving to Rosenborg.
That's it. Serbs are not racist !!!

There is no one evidence that we are racist. That's it.

Well, apart from the mass graves of the thousands of men and children the Serbs 'Ethnically Cleansed' on Balkan hillsides....

Some folks might consider mass extermination based on ethnicity to be a wee bit racist.

Srebrenica+Massacre+%2528Srebrenica+Geno

No reason to rush into judgement on Josh Parker tbh although some of the usual suspects will be desperate to be able to quote themselves later and say "i told you so, i know everything about football". Whatever.

He's here until Jan so we'll see.

One advantage is with a fairly strong and consistent side it should be good to see him playing with decent players and also to see how he measures up compared to what we have.

Rather than sitting thinking he's great because he's better than some pap like Darren Mackie or whatever.

put it this way, he's making big statements

if he can walk the walk, ill permit him talking the talk

got a disctint feeling he has ideas above his station and a few of our players will already not like him

Based on what? Do you speak to them or know any of them personally? That's just casting assertions.

As for talking the talk that again is completely subjective. You're perceiving what he's saying as negative and building an image of him in your head based on that. I personally didn't take anything he said as distinctly negative so I'm reserving judgement, as I feel everyone should until he's given us enough time to make an informed opinion of him.

I don't mean to start an argument on the internet over this. Maybe the guys full of shit and maybe he isn't. Maybe he's shite at football and maybe he isn't. I just dinna like that fact that people are so ready to write him of as a useless wannabe based on 15 minutes of football and 10 minutes worth of interviews. Let's give the boy a fair shake before we start calling him a shite Daren Mackie.

id love nothing more than for him to show that his ability matches his attitude!!

as you say, let's see

I don't like his latest interview either, where he says he has "nothing to prove to red star"

that's a pretty weak attitude...he should be thinking he has EVERYTHING to prove to them

Is that not because they clearly fucking despise him. I mean our own players have had their own band of supporters hating them, and rightly so. Had Nick Blackman played any more football for us I think he would have had a campaign against him but he's clearly working at a different club before he was sold for millions.

Let's give him a chance to work here before we write him off.

For what it's worth, I think he'll be a star here. Hopefully going on to become a regular player for us banging in 15+ goals a season.

Is that not because they clearly fucking despise him. I mean our own players have had their own band of supporters hating them, and rightly so. Had Nick Blackman played any more football for us I think he would have had a campaign against him but he's clearly working at a different club before he was sold for millions.

Let's give him a chance to work here before we write him off.

For what it's worth, I think he'll be a star here. Hopefully going on to become a regular player for us banging in 15+ goals a season.

Exactly. Not wanting to generalise here but generally speaking Serbian people hate black people so he was never going to be a hit over there. I'm sure he'll feel more comfortable at Pittodrie and we'll see a better player than they did over there.

I think Parker will come good & chip in with a few goals. He shouldn't be starting (until he proves himself as good enough) but I think as a sub he certainly has the potential to get us goals.

He was written off by a good few before he even kicked a ball for us & then again (a few I told you so's) by some more after just a couple of games where he shouldered (it seems) a lot of the blame for collective team poor performances & results.

I am still firmly in the give him a fair chance before completely writing him off group but will admit I have seen little of him so far to say he will be a great loan signing. We do however (because of squad size) have to give him the chance to prove he can help us when we need him.

If you think he's worth a chance then he's definitely shite.

Ha ha You so funny. Wish I could be as funy as you but I just cannot manage that amount, or colour on my head. Having said that though, even if I could I really wouldn't.

Ps. for the likes of MT & his "I told you so" BS about Josh Parker.. You thought (& still think) Clangers was a fkn goal keeper.