Coronavirus

Henry

1 minute ago, Parklife said:

Yeah. I referenced the UK & Ireland in a post above. Didn't want to keep repeating it. 

That story shows the nonsensical anomalies created by having exceptions to the rule. 

Sorry that bit. What an absolute shambles this is. She's going on about folk coming in through England, yet those coming in through Ireland are fine!? Deary me 

31 minutes ago, The beard of mcinnes said:

London alone is 160% of the population of Scotland and in a far denser area

To compare countries on a 'who has down better basis is silly'. 

1. We aren’t comparing London deaths to Scottish deaths, so that’s invalid. 

2. Even if we were it’s estimated a large proportion of London’s population has left since the start of the pandemic. Up to 10%. Students, those from abroad, those who can work from home in 2nd homes or at this parents etc.

3. What percentage of London’s population can work safely from home compared to Scotland’s?

4. Have the citizens of each location abided by the rules of lockdown to the same degree? I have first hand experience of London and Scotland, plus have spoke personally with numerous residents of each location through work.

5. Does the greater affluence of citizens of London when compared to Scotland give them advantages in surviving the virus. Did they start off from a healthier point? Do they have the same levels of drugs and drink consumption of Scotland? 

6. Does the mental health problems in areas of Scotland get effected more by isolation and therefore breaking of the rules?

7. Your last point isn’t even a sentence. I wasn’t suggesting we should compare countries. DAYTS did I simply refuted his point while providing two reasons that agreed with his over all thoughts.

8. You certainly can’t compare two countries like England and Scotland whose governments have different levels of control over the decisions that they can and can’t make.

9. FTR Fuck Sturgeon, I’ll still vote SNP because I want Indy but the next parliament is their last chance. 

22 minutes ago, rocket_scientist said:

We didn't miss out. I can tell you this from personal experience. You obviously don't live here. 

Hospitality was shut down in Aberdeen  from 5th Aug to 26th Aug

Eat out to help out ran from 3rd Aug to 31st Aug

As it only ran Mon to Wed and the 26 th Aug was a Wed we missed out completely.

5 minutes ago, Joe pike said:

Hospitality was shut down in Aberdeen  from 5th Aug to 26th Aug

Eat out to help out ran from 3rd Aug to 31st Aug

As it only ran Mon to Wed and the 26 th Aug was a Wed we missed out completely.

I'm fairly certain that I used the scheme at least twice. Might not have been a sit in meal, but we definitely were able to use it for a while. 

Should see something published in the next week setting out the plan for lifting restrictions. Likely that choices need to be considered - maintain restrictions on some things to allow schools to get back to normal etc?

Looks like Easter holiday tourism being written off, unsure about summer. 

Looks like P1,2,3 will be able to go to school from Monday. Hopefully can have a better idea in a fortnight about whether next phase of opening up schools can take place later in March. 

Seems the biggest issue with reopening of schools is not transmission within schools but more that it allows parents to get about more - going back to work, socialising etc.

Trying to emphasise need to continue the stay at home/work from home message to keep transmission rates low.  

2 minutes ago, The Buzzard said:

Should see something published in the next week setting out the plan for lifting restrictions. Likely that choices need to be considered - maintain restrictions on some things to allow schools to get back to normal etc?

Looks like P1,2,3 will be able to go to school from Monday. Hopefully can have a better idea in a fortnight about whether next phase of opening up schools can take place later in March. 

Seems the biggest issue with reopening of schools is not transmission within schools but more that it allows parents to get about more - going back to work, socialising etc.

Trying to emphasise need to continue the stay at home/work from home message to keep transmission rates low.  

The bit about 'allowing' parents to get out and about more is a fucking joke. They really aren't giving a fuck about kids education or parent's wider wellbeing. This obsession with Covid will cause far more wider harms in the long run. 

Not a go at you BTW Buzz, just the messenger and all that. 

5 minutes ago, The Buzzard said:

When do carpet shops open again Buzzard, need to buy carpets. 

1 minute ago, manboobs109 said:

The bit about 'allowing' parents to get out and about more is a fucking joke. They really aren't giving a fuck about kids education or parent's wider wellbeing. This obsession with Covid will cause far more wider harms in the long run. 

Not a go at you BTW Buzz, just the messenger and all that. 

All good, MB, I understand that. 

1 minute ago, daytripping said:

@Sooper-hanz is your man to answer that. 

Fuck know though. I'm guessing that it'll be varying levels of retail being opened up in phases again. I think furniture shops got classed as essential retail last time did they not?

This framework being published in the next week or so should give us more detail. 

8 minutes ago, daytripping said:

Haha strangely something I'm needing also, stuff the builder put down on mine is awful. Called carpetright, they still do fitting but need to order samples etc online and do your own measurements 

Fit a carry on! 

Carpet shop = essential IYAM 

4 minutes ago, The Buzzard said:

@Sooper-hanz is your man to answer that. 

Fuck know though. I'm guessing that it'll be varying levels of retail being opened up in phases again. I think furniture shops got classed as essential retail last time did they not?

This framework being published in the next week or so should give us more detail. 

It's weird, can buy Laminate from B & Q but the carpet shops are all closed. 

11 minutes ago, Roberto said:

I've just been a long walk round the Cove area.

I still find it strange that folk just jump out of the way of you or walk on the road to oncoming traffic, just to avoid a potential Covid carrier.

They would rather be hit by a car than go within a couple of feet of someone. Strange but that's the times just now I guess.

Aye this along with wearing a mask in a wide open area - Dinna get it.  Out to get fresh air but dinna actually get fresh air due to the mask. 

Can semi understand outdoors if it's busy area and your petrified of it.... Like you say though strange times.

1 minute ago, Zeus said:

Haha strangely something I'm needing also, stuff the builder put down on mine is awful. Called carpetright, they still do fitting but need to order samples etc online and do your own measurements 

Fit a carry on! 

Yeah I've been sending away for samples, soon have enough to do a patchwork carpet. :) 

I need to get in there, put the salesman under pressure to cut me a deal, it's nae use getting a 6 inch square sample and having to measure yourself. 

1 minute ago, Zeus said:

Fit a carry on! 

Order order half a dozen of those swatch samples, cut to size or all inhabitants in the house and strap to feet. Get a different sample for each person and use it as try before you buy experiment...